Make Your Own “Pam” & Salmon Salad

I wanted to share with all of you my new discovery in my quest for better health–the Misto!!  I received two of these as a Christmas gift from my fantastic neighbors this year, and I’ve gotta tell ya, I am loving them!  Basically, the Misto is a small canister into which you can pour oil or vinegar.  Then you pump the can and it makes a very nice spray, much like any cooking spray that you can buy at the grocery store.  My problem with store bought cooking spray is all the junk they have to put in the can just so it will spray.  Odds are good, we probably shouldn’t be consuming things like phosphated mono- and diglycerides and dimethyl silicone (yes, I’m reading right off the can here!).  Remember, if you can’t pronounce it, don’t eat it!

Not only is the Misto a perfect solution to healthy cooking spray, but it is great for dressing salad, too.  I have one Misto filled with extra virgin olive oil and another filled with balsamic vinegar.  I few spritzes of each on my salad, and I’ve got a very healthy, low calorie dressing!

Mistos cost about $10 each, and you can purchase one of your very own here: http://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/product.asp?SKU=11318517

It’s been a little while since I’ve posted a recipe in my blog, so here’s my recipe for tonight’s dinner.  I love salmon, and I love that this meal makes perfect lunchtime or quick dinner leftovers.  Even better, it’s a snap to prepare.  Serve it with a green salad, and you’ve got a delicious, healthy dinner in no time at all.  Enjoy!

Salmon, Asparagus, and Orzo Salad with Lemon-Dill Vinaigrette
taken from Cooking Light’s Fresh Food Fast Cookbook

6 cups water
1 pound asparagus, trimmed and cut into 3-inch pieces
1 cup uncooked orzo (rice-shaped pasta) (I use whole wheat!)
1 (1 1/4-pound) skinless salmon fillet
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
Cooking Spray (Insert Misto here!!)
1/4 cup thinly sliced red onion
Lemon-Dill Vinaigrette

1.  Preheat broiler.
2.  Bring 6 cups water to a boil in a large saucepan.  Add asparagus; cook 3 minutes or until crisp-tender.  Remove asparagus from water with tongs or a slotted spoon, reserving water in pan.  Plunge asparagus into ice water; drain and set aside.
3.  Return reserved water to a boil.  Add orzo, and cook according to package directions, omitting salt and fat.
4.   While orzo cooks, sprinkle fillet evenly with salt and pepper.  Place fish on a foil-lined broiler pan coated with cooking spray.  Broil 5 minutes or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork or until desired degree of doneness.  Using 2 forks, break fish into large chunks.  Combine fish, orzo, asparagus, onion, and Lemon-Dill Vinaigrette in a large bowl; toss gently to coat.

Lemon-Dill Vinaigrette

1/3 cup (1.3 ounces) crumbled feta cheese
1 tablespoon chopped fresh dill
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1.  Combine all ingredients in a small bowl, stirring well with a whisk.  Yield: 1/3 cup.

Leave a Reply

