Curbing Your Sweet Tooth with Healthy Hot Cocoa

If you’re like me, you love to curl up with something sweet and hot during these cold winter months.  Unfortunately, those cozy drinks can be quite the nutritional pitfall, so I thought I’d share a few tips on how you can clean up a delicious latte or hot cocoa drink.

Here’s a blog post from former Biggest Loser trainer, Kim Lyons.  She has tons of great ideas for eating well and toning up.  I like her suggestions for her clean coffee drinks in this post.  However, the jury’s still out for me regarding stevia.  Stevia is a plant-based, zero calorie sweetener.  I love that it’s not a bunch of chemicals like artificial sweeteners (think Splenda, Sweet ‘n Low, Equal, etc.), but I’ve also heard that too much of it could be potentially harmful to your health.  I’m generally skeptical of any quick, calorie-free alternative.  For the time being, I definitely choose it over any artificial sweetener, but I’m hesitant to go crazy sweetening everything with it.  Instead, I opt for raw honey in small quantities.

Hope you enjoy a healthy alternative to your sweet drink of choice!  If you’re having trouble finding cacao powder, try your local health food store.  For you Denver locals, I bought mine at Sunflower Farmer’s Market.

More to come in the next few weeks regarding the dangers of artificial sweeteners and how they may be contributing to weight gain.

Here’s to your health in 2012!

http://oxygenmag.com/Community/Blogs/Kim-Lyons-Trainer-Talk/Seasonal-Coffee-Diet-Destroyers.aspx

Leave a Reply

