What to Cook for the Hate-to Cook: Part Two

It’s been all hustle and bustle around here lately with all sorts of things going on.  In fact, last week, this “Hate-to Decorator” even made a serious dent in decorating her studio.  It’s looking good, if I do say so myself.  I’m feeling accomplished–and quite proud!  

Well, now it’s time for all of our Hate-to Cooks to feel just as accomplished with their dinner making abilities, and today, the George Foreman Grill comes to your rescue!  Yes, my tip for today comes with an endorsement of a kitchen appliance.  Yes, I need another kitchen appliance like I need a hole in my head, but this little gadget is great for the Hate-to Cook.  

My hubby bought this little gadget when he was living on his own right after high school.  Yes, my hubby is awesome sauce and he bought and managed a business at the age of eighteen.  The hubs was the perfect candidate for our Hate-to Cook series.  Working 18 hours a day at his shop, he had neither the time nor the desire to cook elaborate meals for himself.  Thankfully, my Hubs is also health conscious.  (He groans just seeing a McDonald’s commercial on TV–I love it!)  So, today’s advice comes less from me and more from my amazing husband.  Sorry, ladies, I’m keeping him for life!

Anyway, the George Foreman grill can be a great way to cook up a healthy and nutritious meal in no time flat.  Plus, this is a very inexpensive kitchen appliance.  The one that we have (perfect for one to two people), costs less than $20 on Amazon.  It doesn’t take up much space in your kitchen cabinets either.  

So, here’s what you do.  The night before work, while you’re packing your lunch for the next day (yes, I’m serious), or even in the morning before work (when you’re scrambling to put some food together for the day), grab a chicken breast or two out of the fridge and throw them in a gallon-size Ziploc bag.  Then grab some healthy salad dressing (I use Newman’s Own Lite salad dressing), or some low-sugar barbeque sauce (I use Stubb’s–lots of flavor, very low in calories, and comparatively low in sugar), and toss that in the bag.  Please don’t measure.  The extra sixty seconds just isn’t worth your time.  Just dump it in generously to coat the meat.  Then, squish up the bag, throw it back in the fridge, and get on with your day.  

Now, when you get home from work, get out your George Foreman grill, plug it in, and wait for it to heat up.  (Don’t worry, folks, it takes just a minute or two.)  Once your grill is ready, put the chicken breasts on and close the lid.  Now, some people complain that the ol’ GF dries our their meat.  Well, my trick is to let it sear well with the lid on.  Then, after a few minutes, I open the lid and just cook it on one side until it’s done.  I find that helps.  I also just keep an eye on it, slicing into the breast to check its doneness.  Really, it’s not too complicated, so don’t worry.  And, if you do happen to overcook the meat in your first attempt, just cook it for a shorter time next time.  No sweat.

While your chicken is cooking, you have a few minutes to make up the rest of your meal.  I like to serve my grilled chicken over a bed of salad greens.  I buy the prepackaged, pre-washed kind that I can just pull out of the container and dump onto a plate.  Slice up some other salad veggies to put on top as well.  My favorite salad toppings are avocados, feta cheese, olives, onions, and bell peppers, but use whatever you like.  Then, go watch the Olympics until your chicken is finished grilling.  Yep, it’s that easy.

When I lived on my own before I got married and worked full-time, this was a go-to meal for me.  It’s nice to cook up two chicken breasts even if you’re just cooking for yourself so that you can eat the second piece for the next day’s lunch or dinner.  You can even get creative with leftover rice and make a mexican bowl with black beans, brown rice, chicken, salsa, and a little bit of cheese.  

Oh!  I forgot to mention that clean up is a snap with the George Foreman grill.  (Because even this Love-to Cook hates cleaning up the kitchen afterward…in fact, I have to go tackle my sink full of dishes after I post this…ugh…)  After the grill has cooled a bit, put a wet paper towel on it and close the lid.  This will loosen anything that is stuck on the grill.  Then, just wipe it up after a few minutes, and you’re done!

Best wishes, Hate-to Cook.  I’ve got complete confidence in you!

Leave a Reply

